LOCKDOWN DRAWINGS

I’ve been doing a lot of pen and ink drawing during the pandemic. I use a traditional dipping pen with Speedball nibs, Speedball Super Black India Ink and, for some of the drawings, acrylic ink. Cross-hatching is the technique I employ. Cross-hatching with a pen has been one of my favourite creative activities since childhood. It relaxes me and allows me to gradually develop a range of values.

Lockdown Drawings reference photo

The starting point for these drawings is a rather ordinary photo I took of a back alley in Hamilton, Ontario. The cast/core shadow pattern had attracted me. I refined an overall shape from the pattern in the photo.

Lockdown Drawing #1

Each drawing is a variation of the shape and stays within it’s confines except for the occasional wandering line; a fairly obvious analogy of my behaviour during the lockdown.

Lockdown Drawing #2

My goal was to explore the infinite variety of options within a limited shape. Tonal gradations and the internal geometry of the shape are key concerns. The subtle gold lines in #2 are drawn with FW Artists Ink Gold, an acrylic ink.

Lockdown Drawing #3

Lockdown Drawing #4

Gold ink is used again in #3 and #4. These reproductions do not show the reflective quality of the gold ink. The originals definitely profit from the ‘gilt’ shine.

These are small drawings, approx. 8×8″. To date, there are sixteen drawings in the series.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 Responses to “LOCKDOWN DRAWINGS”

  1. Renate Roske-Shelton Says:

    What a wonderful ‘lockdown body of work’! Very inspiring and beautiful. Would love to see these in an exhibit, including the prompting photograph of yours. Alternatively, this technique (artist work) would lend itself well to an online course since you are such a good teacher as well. ❤️ Cheers!

  2. Fran Says:

    As usual, your creativity is amazing! Love the results, Barry!

  3. William Brisland Says:

    Gosh Barry, I can’t tell you how much I have missed your blogs. Thanks for sending this, it has perked me up no end. It’s as if I just spent some time in Grand Manan.
    William

  4. Ann Allan Says:

    Barry, these are very interesting – quite striking. I like them a lot because they are abstract, especially #1 because the shadowing is so subtle. Keep me on your list, please. Ann Allan

    On Mon, Aug 24, 2020 at 1:19 PM Barry Coombs Art Workshops wrote:

    > Barry Coombs posted: “I’ve been doing a lot of pen and ink drawing during > the pandemic. I use a traditional dipping pen with Speedball nibs, > Speedball Super Black India Ink and, for some of the drawings, acrylic ink. > Cross-hatching is the technique I employ. Cross-hatching wit” >

  5. Robin Campbell Says:

    Beautiful cross-hatching, Barry. Lovely extrapolation of shadow, shape and texture. Always a treat to see your work.

  6. Jane Darragh Says:

    What a great project for the lockdown! I am intrigued by how the subject becomes more abstract with each drawing. Hope to see more of the series in the future!

  7. elizjay Says:

    Great to hear from you Barry. Thanks for your range of drawings….Inspiring! I got inspired by the shadows under a chair that was lit by multiple sources. Must be tapping into the zeitgeist.Stay safe. Best to Aleda… Sent from my Samsung Galaxy smartphone.

Leave a comment