Fall Tuesday Watercolour Class – More Gourds!

img_2136

***Sometime yesterday, this blog received it’s 175,000th view. Thank you all for following, commenting and liking!

I couldn’t deny the Tuesday watercolour students an opportunity to paint the gourds and the straw bale. The Saturday class had enjoyed it and created some very nice work. On Saturday, I had painted a fairly rapid watercolour sketch as my demonstration and I did the same for the Tuesday afternoon and evening groups. As I paint, I discuss various elements of the still-life and the decisions I’m making. Generally, a quick watercolour sketch is more about suggestion than depiction. Simplification, editing and creative licence are all key factors.

Watercolour demonstration sheet by Barry Coombs

On Saturday, I’d also devoted some time to a completely different process; starting with values in grey and glazing on local colour once the grey washes are dry. Some of the less-experienced students found this to be a very useful way to develop their understanding of value and light and shadow. Yesterday, I worked with some of them one on one. My demo from Saturday (below) should give you an idea of the approach.

Watercolour demonstration sheet by Barry Coombs Watercolour demonstration sheet by Barry Coombs

Several of the students embraced the quick sketch idea and some did more than one piece during the class. It was a good challenge. Many of these students have very good skill sets but would like to add more spontaneity to their work overall. Taking a few risks and working fast can be a positive step in that direction!

IMPORTANT NOTE!!! Many long-time followers may remember when it was possible to click on an image here and see a larger version. It was particularly useful with the images of the critiques because we all like to see the works closer up. For some mysterious reason, a while back, this feature ceased to function and I couldn’t figure out how to restore it. Recently, I’ve had some feedback from a WordPress ‘Happiness Engineer’. I think the proposed solution may work. Click on one of the critique images and let me know if you’re able to view the larger version. I hope so!

Tuesday Afternoon Critique

Tuesday Afternoon Critique

Tuesday Evening Critique

Tuesday Evening Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Fall Tuesday Watercolour Class – More Gourds!”

  1. William Brisland Says:

    Barry,
    Much better now I can zoom in on the artwork once more. A most challenging subject especially with the straw. Never the less your guidance has paid off with the group producing some lovely work. Always a pleasure to open this blog
    Cheers, William

    • Barry Coombs Says:

      Glad to hear it, William. It’s been a pain and I still can’t figure out why the feature was cancelled in the first place. Unfortunately, it now takes you away from the post but I guess it’s not too difficult to return to it. Cheers, Barry

  2. Carol King Says:

    Hi Barry, I was able to click on a photo and enlarge it.

  3. Joan Wolfe Says:

    I too had missed the feature allowing a closer look at paintings. Still didn’t work today. Love your emails! Very inspiring and informative. Always learn from them and enjoy the results at the end of the session.

  4. Karen S. Says:

    As usual, your demos are so helpful and instructional to make for successful results. The paintings are all proof of your excellent guidance. Lovely!
    Have never noticed a problem enlarging the images with a handheld device. Always enjoy
    your blogposts. Karen

  5. GEORGE HUME Says:

    The click on the image opens a new tab with a larger image and an opportunity to enlarge that image once more.  I use Firefox, FYI. George

  6. Lois Says:

    So much better, Love the paintings, lessons, and the Person that did the Straw. Thanks always Barry.
    Lois

  7. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    Yes, it works…like some of your students my sketches are not spontaneous. I twiddle and diddle fixing this and that and it becomes a small not very good painting…I hope to loosen up a little this year!

Leave a Reply

