Plein Air Toronto – Last Two Days!

IMG_2311

Two days to go in our week of sketching and painting in watercolour! Last Thursday, we met at Riverdale Farm and painted in and around the farm and the adjacent Toronto Necropolis, a park-like and tranquil cemetery.

IMG_2299

I gathered the gang in the Necropolis for a demonstration. We deal with a lot of visual information while painting ‘en plein air’. One of our most important tasks is to find and preserve the light in our subject. A value study is likely the best way to do so and, using a mixture of Cobalt Blue and Burnt Sienna, I created a study in four values. The lightest value in my study is the white of the paper. It’s followed by a light middle tone, a dark middle tone and ultimately, the dark. Even the more experienced students found it helpful.

IMG_5131

Watercolour demonstration by Barry Coombs

I even ended up with an unintentional goofy face on my house. Following the demonstration, I spent some time with the newer students and presented a refresher of some basic watercolour techniques. After that, my job was to find everyone. They’d set up throughout the farm, park and cemetery.

Katie at work

Emily at work

Only a few of the group focused on the farm animals as subjects but I can’t resist showing you a few of the Riverdale residents.

IMG_2303

IMG_2310

Later on, we found a quiet, shady spot for our critique. Plans were made for Friday, our final day together.

IMG_2316

Thursday Critique a

Thursday Critique b

Thursday Critique b

On Friday, we visited Black Creek Pioneer Village, an extensive and wonderful historic site. The buildings and artifacts offer many attractive opportunities for the artists and there are animals, as well.

IMG_5180

I set up under a shade tree and demonstrated at my easel. I chose a complicated subject and tried to simplify it with a watercolour sketch. I talk as I paint and attempt to describe the process and the decisions I’m making as the image develops.

Watercolour demonstraton by Barry Coombs

As usual, the group spread out to find inspiration. On a big site like Pioneer Village, it’s easy to lose track of a few of the painters. I now employ modern technology and text missing painters in order to find them.

Friday was the hottest day of our week but there’s no shortage of comfortable, shady spots at the village.

Evelyn at work

IMG_2328

IMG_2331

IMG_2335

IMG_2336

IMG_2345

IMG_2361

IMG_2341

IMG_2337

Eventually, it was time for our last critique of the week. I appreciate the energy, enthusiasm and talent the participants shared at all of our great painting sites. Was there improvement? I think so. Aside from my efforts, they learn from each other and the critique is a very important part of the process. Have a look at Friday’s work! Thanks for following and feel free to leave a comment. Next year, consider Toronto for an ‘en plein air’ painting experience. We’ve had participants from all over Canada and the USA, as well.

Friday Critique a

Friday Critique a

Friday Critique b

Friday Critique b

Friday Critique c

Friday Critique c

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Plein Air Toronto – Last Two Days!”

  1. Brisland Says:

    Barry,
    Your posts have been a very welcome tonic in what has been a trying week. They seem to lighten the day for me and somehow bring my feet back down to earth. It is obvious your students have enjoyed every minute of it as the work they have displayed is quite inspiring. Thank you for staying in touch.
    William

  2. Renate Roske-Shelton Says:

    Fabulous work. It’s great to partake virtually via your high tech work, Barry. It gets me in a prepared frame of mind for Grand Manan! Thanks, Renate

  3. jay holobach Says:

    Barry – thanks again for letting this “oil painter” hang out and learn from the watercolourists. I appreciated your insights and walked away with some new ideas on my approach. (And “go wings”) 😉

Leave a Reply

