Sustained Saturday Watercolour Class – January 30

IMG_1905

Draped fabrics are always a stimulating subject and I don’t present a still life like this very often. My talented students were wary as they entered the studio but wariness turned to eagerness as I demonstrated a traditional approach to handling the folds. They were eager to paint and see what they could do with it.

Step one of watercolour demonstration by Barry Coombs

I developed the folds with greys and discussed the brush-handling techniques I used to create soft edges, when desired. My greys were a mixture of Cobalt Blue and Burnt Sienna. I allowed the demonstration to dry completely before ‘glazing’ the local colour over the fabric. While the brown wash was still wet, I dabbed at the ridges of the folds with a Q-tip.

Step two of watercolour demonstration by Barry Coombs

I didn’t insist that everyone take the same approach but they all thought it was worth a try. I photographed the paintings once the greys had been established. Here’s one of them; the artist is a Saturday regular named Karen Waite.

Step one of watercolour by Karen Waite

Step one of watercolour
by Karen Waite

Every minute of the day was needed yesterday. Most took the time to do a small study similar to my demonstration before embarking on their sustained watercolour. I think the results reveal how engaged they were with the subject and process. It was an enjoyable day; a solid learning experience in good company.

Sustained Saturday Critique

Sustained Saturday Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Sustained Saturday Watercolour Class – January 30”

  1. Susan Power Says:

    Nice work folks!

  2. sjqzoom Says:

    An elegant technique for fabric textures can make all the difference to a competent painting. Shadows before local colour works so well – I will try this

Leave a Reply

