Fall Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Four!

IMG_1860

Tuesday students work from the same still life as the Saturday group. I try not to spend as much time on the demonstration on Tuesday because these are three-hour classes. They don’t have an entire Saturday to develop their watercolours.

The Tuesday classes follow the Saturday classes. Usually, I’ll refer to the Saturday demo as we get started. This Tuesday, I did the demo on the left for the morning class and the demo on the right for the evening class. I wanted to stress simplification of form and I left these studies unfinished so the students could clearly see the first few steps. I also pointed out the study from Saturday (far right) and discussed the steps I used to finish it.

Watercolour demonstration sheet by Barry Coombs  Watercolour study by Barry Coombs

Several of the students were challenged by the drawing element of the still life; the perspective of the books and the metal box, for example. Some didn’t quite finish but I don’t mind. I’d rather see an unfinished piece than something that’s rushed.

Tuesday Afternoon Critique

Tuesday Afternoon Critique

Tuesday Evening Critique

Tuesday Evening Critique

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

