Fall Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Three!

IMG_1850

This is another view of the still life from the Saturday class. I didn’t change anything for the Tuesday classes. I like the solid, simple forms and the textures of the distressed surfaces.

My demonstration was similar to the one I did on Saturday, as well. I used wax as a resist material to preserve light areas and to suggest flaking paint. Also, I granted ‘artistic licence’ to anyone who wanted to add some decoration to the simpler pots. I added a geometric band to the green pot. Why not?

Watercolour demonstration sheet by Barry Coombs

Some of the Tuesday students attend the Saturday classes, as well. I always remind them that they have only half the time to develop their work. Three hours versus six hours. Then, they start painting and amaze me with what they can accomplish, whatever the time span.

In other news, I was at the Dundas Valley School of Art yesterday. I was a part-time instructor there for twenty years so it always feels like a bit of a homecoming. I met the talented students in the full-time program individually and offered some feedback on their work. In the afternoon, I gave a one hour slide talk about my own art practice.

Speaking of talented students, have a look at what the Tuesday students did.

IMG_1848

Tuesday Afternoon Critique

Tuesday Evening Critique

Tuesday Evening Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

