Fall Sustained Saturday Watercolour Class

IMG_1845

We’ve been experiencing some beautiful ‘Indian Summer’ weather in southern Ontario recently. Unfortunately, a bad cold seems to be roaming around the region, as well. I caught it after my return from Sicily (could it really have been that person who coughed for 9 1/2 hours straight on the flight from Rome and barely covered her mouth the whole time?). Yesterday, I was operating at well less than 100% but I didn’t want to cancel the class.

The good news is that I have great students. A team took over coffee-making and cookie duty. I kept contact to a minimum and we had a very nice day of watercolour painting. My still life may evoke a Mexican feeling and I couldn’t help but think about the painting holiday I’ll lead in Mexico next March.

I discussed the use of wax as a resist material during my demonstration. I first painted the green pot on the left with a yellow wash over the entire object. I applied wax (wait until the paint is dry!) to protect some of the yellow before painting a green wash over the whole pot.

With the more complex pot on the right, I used wax to create highlights in the light areas and reflected light in the areas of shadow.

Watercolour demonstration sheet by Barry Coombs

Thanks go to the whole gang for chipping in and bearing with their sick instructor. Many of them tried the wax. Can you see where it’s been used?

Sustained Saturday Critique

Sustained Saturday Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

