Fall Sustained Saturday Watercolour Class

IMG_8182

A funny thing happened on the way to teaching this fall. Last June, I gave up my studio in Toronto. Yesterday, I taught in the same studio.

Here’s what happened: Eight of my students collectively took over the lease on my former studio and formed Arts on Adrian. I’m now a tenant. As far as my classes go, it’s business as usual. Anyone is welcome to sign up for a class. We had a small group yesterday but, overall, enrollment is very good and the transition has been smooth. I’ve loaned all of my studio furniture and basic equipment to Arts on Adrian. I’ll tell you more about the group and their activities in a future post. I’m very grateful to them and to all of my students who continue to support me.

Watercolour demonstration by Barry Coombs

What is the goal of a demonstration? Usually, a demonstration shows a process or a specific technique. I often use a demo to illustrate a concept. Yesterday, I discussed several aspects of colour and composition with the students and I painted as I talked. Everyone in the class has a good watercolour skill set so demonstrating a technique or approach didn’t seem necessary. Also, it was the first class of the Fall term and ideas about colour and composition can always be refreshed.

Keep scrolling to see the lovely watercolours they created. Before you get to them I’d like to thank all of you followers as this blog received it’s 150,000th view a few days ago. Stay tuned for a busy term. Not only do I have a Fall Studio Calendar at Arts on Adrian but, in a month, I’ll be off to Sicily to lead a two-week watercolour workshop!

Sustained Saturday Critique

Sustained Saturday Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Fall Sustained Saturday Watercolour Class”

  1. William Brisland Says:

    Barry, thank you for the update. Isn’t it strange sometimes when you think things have changed but in essence they appear to stay the same. Please keep us posted or blogged on the progress.
    Best wishes
    William

  2. anitaozolins Says:

    How wonderful! Workshop in Sicily sounds fab too 😉

  3. Lois Says:

    Congratulations, on 150,000,viewings. I sure look forward to your
    lessons, don’t get much done, but love learning.
    The paintings are really nice, and colorful.
    Enjoy your Trip, to Sicily. Just wish I could be with it.
    Take care and thanks for sharing.
    Lois

  4. David Sansome Says:

    Hi Barry, Have been following your workshops and would love to enrole when free time permits. At present l am back doing a little pen and ink and wonder if you are going to give another course or could recommend a book/video. Hope Hamilton is treating you well. Dave

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

