Grand Manan Art Gallery – Talk and Exhibition

IMG_2424

I’ve enjoyed a rewarding association with the Grand Manan Art Gallery for several years. One of my watercolours, Ross Island Light, is in the Permanent Collection and I’ve contributed work to the last two annual Square Foot shows. This summer, I wanted to celebrate my 25th anniversary of painting and teaching on the island and offered to do an illustrated talk at the gallery. The GMAG had never hosted an artist talk before but the Board accepted and I prepared a one hour PowerPoint presentation which I gave to an audience of over fifty people last Thursday evening.

One of the works I showed during my talk was the FUNDY GEM, a small watercolour that I painted outdoors on the wharf in North Head in 1992.

FUNDY GEM 1992 Watercolour on paper by Barry Coombs

FUNDY GEM 1992
Watercolour on paper
by Barry Coombs

Over the past winter, I decided to submit a new work to the annual Island Art Show, which runs from August 8 – 27. As I was preparing my talk, I took a fresh look at the FUNDY GEM watercolour of 1992 and I thought that the cropped composition and the attention to the mechanical elements of the fishing boats reflected my longtime passion for Cubism. I decided to re-visit the earlier watercolour and painted a new acrylic on canvas. If you’re on Grand Manan Island, drop by to see the new incarnation of the FUNDY GEM and all the other wonderful work by a wide range of artists. Opening night is this Saturday, August 8, at 7pm.

FUNDY GEM 2015 Acrylic on canvas  by Barry Coombs

FUNDY GEM 2015
Acrylic on canvas
by Barry Coombs

The gallery is located at 21 Cedar Street and is wheelchair-accessible. It can be contacted at info@grandmananartgallery.com and (506) 662-3662.

GMAG Hours
11am – 6pm – Daily
1pm – 5pm – Sunday

Admission – Cash Only
Adults – $2
Children under 12 are free

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Grand Manan Art Gallery – Talk and Exhibition”

  1. William Brisland Says:

    Oh, If only I could be there!

  2. Alison Ogilvie Says:

    I really enjoyed your talk and am looking forward to seeing your new FUNDY GEM at the opening on Saturday!

  3. Robin Campbell Says:

    Congratulations Barry! “Fundy Gem 2015” is mind blowing. What exciting work! Your cubist approach is exhilarating and your choice of hues are thrilling. That is one dynamic painting, sir!

  4. Carol King Says:

    Hi Barry, What fun to see the 1992 Fundy Gem and the 2015 one. What a difference cubism makes,

  5. Lois Says:

    Love Fundy Gem, and wish you the Best,with the showing.l
    Lois

Leave a Reply

