Sustained Saturday Watercolour Class – March 7

IMG_1656

The Teddy Bear Picnic proved to be a week-long event at my studio. The Tuesday students had a lot of fun with them and the Saturday group came up with a few interesting interpretations of their own.

I presented the same concepts in today’s demonstration as I had on Tuesday. We tried to break the bears down into their component shapes. This allowed more control of soft edge techniques. Simplification, as always, was discussed. How can we suggest the full, three-dimensional quality of the toys with the simplest means?

Watercolour demonstration by Barry Coombs

Did I say ‘a few interesting interpretations’? That might be an understatement. These imaginative visual solutions are worth a good look.

Sustained Saturday Critique

Sustained Saturday Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Sustained Saturday Watercolour Class – March 7”

  1. Jacques Descoteaux Says:

    Looks like it was a great day!

    • Barry Coombs Says:

      Thanks, Jacques. How’s Ireland?

      • Jacques Descoteaux Says:

        Amazing. Hasn’t changed much from 10 years ago. I’ll send a few pictures when I go somewhere with Wifi. It’s been windy and cold, and that’s inside the house. I’ve been exploring some interesting stuff in black and white on paper. It’s a good thing I have that because the oil paint doesn’t dry. I have four canvases in progress and I can’t do much with them.

Leave a Reply

