Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Six!

Still Life

It’s pomegranate season! I was surveying the produce at the grocery store when I spotted these beauties. Green might seem like an obvious choice to go with them but you can’t beat complementary colours.

My demonstrations were done with some wax, a 3/4″ flat angled brush and speed. I worked very quickly. We learn a lot from repetition but risk-taking and experimentation can sometimes teach us more and help us to add new elements to our repertoire. Courage is required and, of course, not every experiment will be a success.

Watercolour demonstrations by Barry Coombs

Many of the students did more than one piece and tried to work at a faster pace. Some also tried wax and a bigger brush. When you tweak your process, your ‘product’ will be influenced. I saw some very exciting ideas in the watercolours. In particular, the ‘figure/ground’ relationship  in several of the paintings is very effective. This is the interaction of the main subject and the surrounding area of the painting. I’m going to throw a few more concepts into the mix over the rest of our Fall term. Stay tuned!

By the way, this blog might receive it’s 125,000 view today! Thanks for following, liking and commenting.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Six!”

  1. Carol King Says:

    Not only do I always enjoy your posts and feel like I learn something from your teaching and seeing your studen’ts work, I would be thrilled if I was the 125,000 viewer. Do I win anything if I am? 🙂
    A million dollars? A new car? (Oh wait, that’s Oprah) OK, how about Barry Coombs’ biggest fan award? 🙂

  2. Carol King Says:

    Awww, reading your posts is my reward. (But if you were going to send jewelry, I prefer 18k over 14k gold.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

