Fall Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week One!

IMG_1381

Fall term is underway at my studio. Tuesday is the big day and, yesterday, the morning and evening classes resumed their creative pursuits. Not everyone painted over the summer months so I thought I’d go back to basics with my discussion/demonstration.

Italy was probably still on my mind, as well. Studies in sepia or bistre wash and ink were a very common element of the painting process as far back as the Renaissance. Compositions and light and shadow would be worked out on paper before starting on panel or canvas.

Pencil was the first step with these two studies. Secondly, I mixed a wash made of Burnt Sienna and Cobalt Blue. I applied the wash EVERYWHERE except where I could see direct light on my subject. It doesn’t get much simpler than this but it’s a challenge. It helps train the eye to see the most significant light and that’s a key concern in watercolour painting.

Tuesday Demo Sheet by Barry Coombs

All of the students followed my lead but there were variations on the theme. Some continued the study and added more values. Others completed a study and then developed a second piece in colour. Overall, whether or not they painted much over the summer, they don’t seem to have missed a beat!

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

