Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Ten

Still Life - WinterTuesWk10/2014

That’s it for Winter term at the studio. I’m grateful to all of the students for their enthusiasm, hard work and spirit of adventure! Winter classes may be over but winter hasn’t given up yet in our region. I’m looking out the window at a blizzard and we’re expecting up to 25 centimetres of snow today. That’s 10 inches, for those of you who don’t do metric.

Watercolour demonstration by Barry Coombs - WinterTuesWk10/  Watercolour demonstration by Barry Coombs - WinterTuesWk10/

Once again, I used a 3/4″ flat angled brush for my demonstrations. I was determined to make broad, wedge or swatch-like shapes with the brush. The edge or tip of the brush was used to make the thinner, linear strokes. As blocky and planar as these demos look, they were still developed with a traditional process. ‘Light to dark’ and ‘big to small’, in general.

Most of the students enjoyed our last three classes with the flat angled brushes. Everyone, at least, appreciated the benefits of experimentation and risk-taking. The results, as you can see, were very colourful and exciting.

My Spring Studio Calendar will be out soon. Stay tuned.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Ten”

  1. William Brisland Says:

    Barry, You must have a garage full of props for your classes. These blogs have been a real tonic and when they appear on my computer, I drop everything I’m doing just to see what you have been teaching plus the wonderful results. “Keep em coming” I say
    Best regards
    William

    • Barry Coombs Says:

      Thanks, William. Keep those comments coming, too! Always good to hear from you. How about Grand Manan this summer? The Loft is currently available.

  2. Carol King Says:

    I was just thinking the same thing as Mr. Brisland. Where do you keep all your props? I like this group of your students’ work. They all look bright and cheerful.

  3. pumkin Says:

    I bet he ate half the props from this painting 🙂

Leave a Reply

