Sustained Saturday Watercolour Class

Still Life - WinterSat3/2014

Last Tuesday, we worked from this still life but I made a few changes for the Saturday painters. The most obvious addition is the apples. Books and apples. Wisdom and knowledge?

I used a 3/4″ flat angled brush for my demonstration. I used the same brush on Tuesday. The students weren’t required to follow my lead and could choose whatever brush they preferred. Most, though, were intrigued by the possibilities and the look a flat brush can give a painting.

By the way, I prefer the synthetic flat angled brushes to the synthetic/natural mixes or even the pure natural hair versions. The synthetic brushes don’t hold much water but I don’t need that for this approach. I like their stiffness and the crisp shapes and marks they can make. The natural hair flats can be too floppy although they hold much more water and are perfect for other things.

Watercolour demonstration by Barry Coombs - WinterSat3/2014

The flat angled brush was a new tool for most of the students and I like the way they stressed process over product. Everyone did at least two studies and many did three. As you can see, it was quite an exhibition at the end of the day.

Sustained Saturday Critique

Sustained Saturday Critique

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Sustained Saturday Watercolour Class”

  1. jane darragh Says:

    Thanks for another great class, Barry. I enjoyed the challenge!

  2. Barry Coombs Says:

    Glad to hear it, Jane.

Leave a Reply

