Humber Valley Art Club – Day Two

It was back to Neilson Park Creative Centre for another day of pen and watercolour with the Humber Valley Art Club. Last week, we worked right to the end of the day and so we got started yesterday with a look at our work from day one. Our two drawings were done with monochromatic washes of a single value before applying pen.

Critique-HVACDay2/2014

Natural forms are always a great subject for drawing. I brought in my collection of shells. I have about thirty whelks which I’ve beachcombed over the years.

I made the upper study at home and did the lower one as the first step of my morning demonstration. They’re on Arches, 140 lb., Hot Press watercolour paper. I started with a warm wash throughout the shell and the platform. When it dried, I painted the shadow with a dull violet.

Step one of shell demo by Barry Coombs - HVACDay2/2014

I developed the darker areas with the pen (Pilot, pigment ink drawing pen, black, 03), added a little detail and enhanced the structure of the shell.

Step two of shell demo by Barry Coombs - HVACDay2/2014

Following that, I paid careful attention to edges of the shell. I didn’t want a hard outline all the way around the shell. It would make it look flat. Also, I got out my kneaded eraser and cleaned up the pencil lines.

Step three of shell demo by Barry Coombs - HVACDay2/2014

Our afternoon drawing was based on a diagrammatic model I provided for the group. It’s a bit formulaic but not a bad way to achieve the basic shape of a dory.

Dory diagram by Barry Coombs - HVACWk2/2014

I worked on Curry’s, 200 lb., Cold Press watercolour paper. The watercolour was all done in one main step and I allowed colours to run into each other, particularly on the beach.

Step one of dory demo by Barry Coombs - HVACDay2/2014

I certainly didn’t overdo the pen (Pilot, pigment ink drawing pen, black, 08). The Cold Press paper is a bit bumpy and the larger 08 nib allowed me to work quickly.

Step two of dory demo by Barry Coombs - HVACWk2/2014

Next week, we’ll have a look at the dory drawings from the HVAC participants and embark on some new projects. Stay tuned!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Humber Valley Art Club – Day Two”

  1. Carol King Says:

    Hi Barry, I was drawing a boat today. How serendipitous that I came upon your boat sketch. Thanks! Love the shell and of course your student’s work is always fab.

  2. scaboo Says:

    That dory looks amazing.

Leave a Reply

