Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Six

Still Life - WinterTuesWk6/2014

Mid-terms! Well, I don’t actually mark my students but I often like to review a few basics at the halfway point. Today, I showed my drawing in two steps. For my first step, I used only straight lines and drew broad strokes from my shoulder. Importantly, I held my pencil as far back from the point as possible.

Step one of demonstration by Barry Coombs - WinterTuesWk6/2014

Step two involves curved strokes and the drawing is refined. I held my pencil as if I was going to write my name with it, close to the point. I’ve cleaned up the drawing a bit with a kneaded eraser.

Step two of demonstration by Barry Coombs - WinterTuesWk6/2014

As for watercolour, I talked briefly about using soft-edge washes to create transitions across the planes of the hats. Everyone was interested in the colour choice I made for mixing the ‘bone’ colour of the whitish hats. I used a combination of Cobalt Blue and Raw Sienna, very diluted for the lightest areas.

Step three of demonstration by Barry Coombs - WinterTuesWk6/2014

The drawing reminder was timely as it seemed to be the biggest challenge, initially. Most of the students found it helpful to start with the straight line approach. As usual, challenges were met and hurdles, for the most part, were overcome. It was a good learning experience. Hats off to a sound process and good fundamentals!

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Six”

  1. William Brisland Says:

    As the old saying goes “Get ahead, get a Hat”
    Most inspiring
    William

  2. Scott Cooper Says:

    Lots of very good painting going on in this class! Well done, one and all.

  3. Carol King Says:

    I always enjoy your tutorials and your students’ works. Thanks Barry.

Leave a Reply

