Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Four

Still LIfe - WinterTuesWk4-2014

I had to keep an eye on the still life this morning. I wasn’t sure if the morning students had partaken of a hearty breakfast before coming to class.

The layman will look at this arrangement of muffins and see all brown. As a matter of fact, some of the students saw all brown, as well. At first! Our job as artists is to enhance what we are seeing and colour is an extremely effective tool. With that in mind, everyone did their best to see yellows and oranges, the warm colours of fresh baking.

We continue to discuss ways to add a spirited feel to our paintings. Generally, we’re trying to be more relaxed and less fussy. A little blossom or backrun in a watercolour doesn’t mean the painting is ruined. Look at one of the  all-time greats, Winslow Homer. A careful look at any dozen of his watercolours will reveal small imperfections here and there but the strength of his drawing, design, values and colour make these minor things irrelevant. I do have to add, though, that he was criticized in his time. His watercolours were considered to be a bit rough and unrefined. Who remembers his critics?

AM watercolour demonstration by Barry Coombs - WinterTuesWk4-2014

PM watercolour demonstration by Barry Coombs - WinterTuesWk4-2014

My demonstrations may be rough and unrefined but they have a little bit of life and, through them, I was able to communicate some ideas to the classes. They put a lot of thought into their compositions and colour choices and did some very strong work.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Four”

  1. Linda Halcomb Says:

    I am always fascinated by the photos of the student work. they are so similar but so different. I ponder the choices they make. Really interesting and I learn so much from your demo paintings. If only I could paint that loose.

    • Barry Coombs Says:

      Thanks, Linda. Any teacher has an influence on the look of their student’s work. Many teach only their own style and the results are predictable. I try my best to help my students to find their own voice.

  2. Dottie Says:

    Your demos look rich and velvety, with paths of light sparkling through. I’m sure you made it look easy, just as I’m sure your students slaved over their work. Their individual personalities show–am wondering if I can pick out a few of the ones I know! 🙂 Wish I could be there…we’ve been snowed in more times than we care to count. It’s not fun for Dave to shovel his way to the mailbox–repeatedly.

    • Barry Coombs Says:

      Hi Dottie,
      I’m glad Dave is getting his exercise. We’ve done a fair bit of shoveling here, as well. Thanks for your thoughts. I’m sure you could correctly identify some of the authors of these watercolours.

  3. Scott Cooper Says:

    Your students are working really well. Congratulations to both them and you.

  4. Lois Says:

    Very nice, still life. the Students, did well(and not One Bite)!
    Thanks always for sharing, Barry.
    Lois

  5. joanne Says:

    Hey Barry! Your mailbox is full at info@barrycoombs.ca. Did you know? I hope I could attend evenings this, and next Tuesday. Thanks, Joanne

  6. Carol King Says:

    Your still life looks as yummy as your demo and your students’ work.

Leave a Reply

