Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Three

Still Life - WinterTuesWk3/2014

It’s very cold out. I’m not taking my group of painters to Mexico until March so I thought I’d try to bring a little bit of a Mexico feeling into the studio.

We’re continuing to discuss ways to be more spontaneous and expressive with our watercolours. Each class, I offer a few ideas with my demonstrations. I try not to take too long with the demos and these, morning and evening, took about 30 minutes each. I’d rather do them in 15 minutes but, once in a while, a longer demo is merited. They’re not very big, about 6 x 8″ or so. As I paint, I talk.

Watercolour Demonstration by Barry Coombs - WinterTuesWk3/2014

Watercolour Demonstration by Barry Coombs - WinterTuesWk3/2014

Many of the students are really challenging themselves. It takes courage to deliberately leave your comfort zone. It also takes time for the eye to adjust to new looks. I’m really pleased with their efforts. I’m also looking forward to a mango or two for breakfast. It’s as close as I’m going to get to Mexico for a few more months.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Three”

  1. Helen K. Beacham Fine Art Says:

    I love the idea of “warming up” your students with a taste of Mexico, to come! And I love the variety of results. That’s how it should be!

  2. Barry Coombs Says:

    Thanks for visiting, Helen. I agree with you.

  3. Linda Halcomb Says:

    I can really see development in their work. Very sophosticated design in some pieces.

    • Barry Coombs Says:

      Pierre Bonnard said ‘A well-composed painting is half finished.’ We talk about compositional basics a lot and I encourage everyone to start with a thumbnail study.

Leave a Reply

