Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Two

Still Life - WinterTuesWk2/2014

Welcome, new followers. Thanks for dropping by and special thanks to all of you regular viewers. I had my 100,000th view a few days ago. If I had a nickel…..

Last week, I used the expression ‘freedom of handling’. I’ll try to explain what I mean. As we paint, we develop our skills. Many artists reach a point where they want to relinquish a bit of hard-earned control and allow more surprises into their work. These surprises are not always happy ones but one doesn’t really grow without taking risks.

This term, I’m trying to introduce a new idea or two in each class. I’m afraid, my message is not always clear to the blog viewer because you don’t see all of the steps. The students observe my demonstration and are encouraged to consider these new ideas but nothing is forced down their throats.

Watercolour Demonstration by Barry Coombs - WinterTuesWk2/2014

Some of the students are still gaining confidence with their skills and are less eager to take risks. That’s fine. Others are comfortable with their ability to render objects and handle paint and are keen for new challenges. It’s early days; just week two of our winter term. The next eight weeks are going to be exciting.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

