Sustained Saturday Watercolour Class- Citrus!

Still Life - FallSustSat2/2013

Sangria, anyone? I was just about to start my demonstration this morning when one of the students suggested that we could convert the still life into a sizable vessel of sangria. Artists!

I wanted to talk about three main things; ‘wire frame’ drawing, mixing different values of warm colours and reflections. Sometimes, I communicate my thoughts in a more complete image and other times I get the ideas across with a work sheet like this. It’s not a very glamorous demonstration but it seemed to have the desired effect.

Watercolour demonstration by Barry Coombs - FallSustSat2/2013After the demo, everyone rolled up their sleeves and got to the task at hand but I wasn’t finished with them yet. I waited 45 minutes or so and called the group together. We walked around the studio and looked at everyone’s thumbnail sketches. I notice that the students who work out their compositions and their ideas at the thumbnail stage are often quite successful with their paintings.

Anyway, here’s the work from today. They definitely earned their sangria.

Sustained Saturday Critique

Sustained Saturday Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Sustained Saturday Watercolour Class- Citrus!”

  1. Scott Cooper Says:

    Terrific group of paintings – looks like you all had a great day!

  2. Ruth Bailey Says:

    Barry, your teaching ideas continue to amaze and inspire me!

Leave a Reply

