An evening with SOYRA in Aurora

ACC

I spent an enjoyable Tuesday evening in Aurora, Ontario with the Society of York Region Artists. The venue was the Aurora Cultural Centre and it’s quite a grand building.

The first part of my presentation was an illustrated Power Point talk about the development of my approach to watercolour. Part two was a demonstration and I chose a rural theme for the painting. I wasn’t able to get very far with it in the alloted time but it allowed me to convey my process. I’ll finish this watercolour soon and post it so you can see the final result.

Watercolour demonstration (in progress) by Barry Coombs-SOYRA2013

SOYRA is a very active group and is open to artists from York region and the surrounding area. That’s me on the left in the group photo. Next to me are Dianne Hughes, Philippa Hajdu and Carol Tremayne of the Program Committee. Nancy Newman, the current President of SOYRA, is on the right.

Group-SOYRA2013

Finally, I’d like to welcome all new followers. Don’t hesitate to comment on a post. It’d be nice to hear from you. This blog reached 90,00 views recently and I’m grateful for the support.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “An evening with SOYRA in Aurora”

  1. Laird Saunderson Says:

    Hi Barrie: Having travelled in June to the UK to the Cotswolds and Lower Slaughter and so many of the places you visited and painted, I would love to go back with you sometime ..what an amazingly wonderful trip! Laird Saunderson

  2. Mary McCullough Says:

    Hello Barry.
    I’m new to art and a friend, Evelyn Cunningham, recommended your classes. I’ve been following your blog and loving the paintings. I’m not ready to take one of your classes but hope to next summer. Meanwhile, I’ll keep practising and following your blog with enjoyment.

    • Barry Coombs Says:

      I’m glad you like the blog, Mary. Also, thank you for posting the 800th comment since it’s inception. I look forward to meeting you sometime in the future.

  3. Lois Says:

    Congratat’s on so many views.
    You have a Great site, with a lot of information, and Always
    Thanks for sharing..
    Lois

Leave a Reply

