New Gouache in Progress

Preliminary wash for untitled gouache by Barry Coombs

Preliminary watercolour washes
for untitled gouache

Spring term ended a few weeks ago and my Plein Air Toronto workshop is still two weeks in the future. I have a solo exhibition coming up this fall (more about that soon) so it’s been a busy time in the studio.

Some of my new works are painted with gouache over a preliminary watercolour wash. I’ve been working with gouache for a few years and, while I continue to paint watercolours, working with gouache has been a refreshing change and an occasional break from the much more familiar watercolour process. If you haven’t seen any of my gouaches, click right here.

My process tends to vary slightly from painting to painting. Often, I start with a sketch. Not this time. With this piece, I began with two watercolour washes and established the simple shape of a house. I stared at it for quite a while and then I went out onto the front porch and made a sketch.

The next step is to find some colours that will work with the ‘mother colour’ of the preliminary wash. I’ll post the finished gouache sometime next week.

Pen and ink sketch by Barry Coombs

Pen and ink sketch
for untitled gouache

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “New Gouache in Progress”

  1. Scott Cooper Says:

    Nice to see you post a work in process . Look forward to seeing the final.

  2. Ruth Bailey Says:

    Looking forward to seeing your finished work. This introduction is intriguing, especially the unusual perspective in the sketch on top of the regular geometric shapes of the initial washes.

    • Barry Coombs Says:

      Hi Ruth,
      I’ve often taught perspective but it tends to get completely re-interpreted in much of my work. I’m having a good stare at the new gouache right now. It’s not quite speaking to me yet but I think it will eventually.

  3. Keith Ikeda-Barry Says:

    Great to read your description of the approach, progress and the problem-solving, Barry.

  4. Lois Says:

    Thanks for this ,Gouache, demo, and looking to see how it will
    be finished.
    Bought some Gouache, they are different, so hope to get use to them.
    Thanks again Barry, and good luck,with this project.
    Lois

  5. Carol King Says:

    Hi Barry, I love your gouache paintings. Thanks for sharing your steps.

Leave a Reply

