Front Cover of Leisure Painter!

Cover of Leisure Painter-April 2013

Last fall, I was commissioned by Leisure Painter, the best-selling ‘learn to paint and draw’ magazine from the United Kingdom. I submitted an article describing the evolution of my watercolour style. Obviously, I was very excited about the prospect of contributing to such a well-known magazine but the reality has exceeded my expectations.

A detail of my watercolour, THE STUDY, is on the front cover! In addition to that, I’ve been asked to produce more articles for Leisure Painter.

The April 2013 issue is at bookstores and news stands now. It can be purchased online at Painters Online and also from iTunes.

Thank you to everyone at Leisure Painter, particularly editor Ingrid Lyon, for believing in my work and giving me this wonderful opportunity. As always, I’m very grateful to my supportive students and to all of you who follow my efforts on this blog, which received it’s 75,000th view a few weeks ago.

Pages 1 & 2 of Coombs Feature - Leisure Painter-April 2013

Pages 3 & 4 of Coombs Feature - Leisure Painter-April 2013

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Front Cover of Leisure Painter!”

  1. William Brisland Says:

    A True Camp and that’s the truth!
    William Brisland

  2. Sue McKee Says:

    Hi Barry,
    This looks great. I was looking for the magazine yesterday but haven’t tracked it down yet. I love that particular magazine. When I was last in London, 2 yrs ago, I guess, I bought a copy because I found the magazine so appealing. Thought of subscribing to it. Now that you might be a regular, I think I will. Congratulations! you will add a great deal to the magazine. Best, Sue McKee

  3. Ruth Bailey Says:

    Congratulations, Barry! I’m curious about the paper they say you used: Arches 140 lb. NOT watercolour paper? Looks like a fascination article nonetheless.

  4. William Brisland Says:

    A True Champ and that’s the truth.

    William

  5. Fran Lauzon Says:

    Congratulations Barry! Looks really good on the computer. I enjoy your posts and read them every time. Still painting here in Medicine Hat and have ventured into oils. Way to go — Fran Lauzon

  6. Nadya Says:

    Congratulations Barry! Such a grand cover and the spreads are so inspirational. Will definitely get the magazine.
    Miss your classes.

  7. Lois Says:

    Barry, Congratulations, on this nice Article…
    And nice Examples…
    Lois

  8. Gordon Dowsley Says:

    Barry Well done – your parents would have been so proud. We miss them – they wree our best friends. We are happy to see you doing so well and earning the recognition you deserve. Gordon

  9. Carol King Says:

    YOU’RE A STAR! I am not surprised this magazine put your painting on the cover and has a a featured article about you and your work. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

