Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Seven- Coloured Glass!

Still Life - WinterTuesWk7

It was cold, icy and gray yesterday. Our colourful glass objects offered a little visual cheer.

We continued using the flat angled brushes and wax. Even with a flat angled brush in your hand, it’s difficult to commit to making bold, angular shapes when you’re looking at gently curving surfaces. I tried to set the pace with my demonstration. I wanted it to be very clear that these studies were painted with a flat angled brush.

Watercolour Demonstration by Barry Coombs - WinterTuesWk7

As always, the students responded courageously and created some very dramatic watercolour paintings. A few are still fairly new to the medium and concentrated on soft-edge techniques. They’re learning fast!

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Seven- Coloured Glass!”

  1. Joanne Says:

    Barry, these colour combinations are making my heart sing! Such great shape work and the backgrounds ALL work so well. I’m so inspired that I’m going home to paint instead of working on my bookkeeping. Way to go everyone!

  2. Lois Says:

    Very very nice! The students did well.
    The bottles are so colorful.
    the Class has a Great Teacher.
    Lois

  3. Lois Says:

    Barry, I have been making a few Thumbnail sketches, to see
    What I want, I kind of should not Copy yours actually.
    When I get it done, is ok,to send the jpg. of it?
    Thanks again for all you have done, to help in my Art.
    Lois

  4. Barry Coombs Says:

    Hi Lois, I’d be happy to see the painting when you’re finished.

  5. Lois Says:

    Barry, it might be awhile.
    I have a habit, that everything is weak color?
    Anyhow, it’s the 3rd time I started. Tried the Prelimary wash, with it
    and did that twice.
    So bare with me!!
    I love Challenges….
    Have a Great Day…
    Lois

Leave a Reply

