Markham Group of Artists – ‘Cubist’ Watercolour

Watercolour demonstration by Barry Coombs - MarkhamGroupofArtists-30/1/2013I visited the Markham Group of Artists on Wednesday for a one-day workshop. Our theme was a ‘Cubist’ still-life in watercolour. This is a workshop that I always enjoy presenting. If you know my watercolours, you’ll understand why. They’re based on a playful and colourful response to Cubism, the early Modernist period that I’ve always loved.

At the start of the day, I asked the group to consider our project as a creative exercise with an experimental component. That may sound scary but we approached the painting through a series of well-defined steps. I provided a template of the composition that I used. With just one day to complete the work, this saves time although everyone put their own ideas into their designs. I worked along with the group, trying to stay one step ahead. My demonstration is on the left.

Sometimes, I offer this as a two or three day workshop. In that event, we spend more time on the preliminary work, we work bigger and I add a few other elements to the process.

Everyone got into the spirit of things on Wednesday and worked very hard. The final step was to paint some areas with Lamp Black. As you can see below, a few of the participants haven’t added the black yet and some have a few shapes to finish but overall they got a lot done.

Time flies and I, for one, was pooped at the end of the day. It was worth it. Thanks for having me.

'Cubists' at work - Markham Group of Artists-30/1/2013

Critique - Markham Group of Artists-30/1/2013

Markham 'Cubists' - Markham Group of Artists-30/1/2013

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Markham Group of Artists – ‘Cubist’ Watercolour”

  1. bar Says:

    Nice work everyone! looks like fun too!

  2. Lois Says:

    Love your Cubism, the Students did well.
    Your a Good Teacher, and wish I lived near you.
    Wish I had your Template, you pass to your Students.
    Thanks so much for sharing.
    Lois

Leave a Reply

