Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week One

Still Life - WinterTuesWk12013

Happy New Year, art lovers! It was time to get back to watercolour painting at my studio yesterday. I like to start each term with some colour and some familiar yet pleasing shapes and the citrus fruit seemed to fit the bill.

I used my demonstrations, almost like diagrams on a blackboard, to illustrate the fundamentals that I discussed at the start of each class. Simplification, value and colour were my main topics. I did these little watercolours with my primaries only; Aureolin (Mixture), Rose Madder Quinacridone and Cobalt Blue, all from the Da Vinci Paint Company.

Watercolour demonstration by Barry Coombs - WinterTuesWk12013

Some of the students are still fairly new to watercolour and I asked them to keep their paintings as simple as my demonstrations. As it happened, a few of the more experienced artists liked the idea and tried it, as well. The rest went ahead and did their thing and we had some very colourful and cheerful results.

It looks like we have a creative winter term ahead of us. Thanks for following.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week One”

  1. grandidea Says:

    Sorry we’re not there, but enjoying the sun in Naples! Happy New Year and Hello from Barb and Carolyn!

  2. Lois Says:

    Happy New Year.
    And Thanks again for always sharing…
    Lois

  3. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    Gosh Barry, none of these are simple or look like they’ve been done by beginners. Very impressive!

  4. January 19, 2013 « Linda Halcomb's Blog Says:

    […] exercises he teaches in class. Well, the time is now and he has just recently started a new term. Here is the link for week one.  I started by making a series of compositional sketches using […]

  5. January 24, 2012 « Linda Halcomb's Blog Says:

    […] blog. Barry just started a new term and has been posting his weekly assignments. Using his week one class, I completed preparatory studies and included those in my last post. I struggled through the […]

Leave a Reply

