Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Nine

I’ve always enjoyed painting pomegranates and , fortunately, they were on sale this week at the grocery store.  Combining them with the complementary green fabrics gave our still-life a nice vibrant quality.

I hadn’t talked much about colour lately so I painted my two demonstrations with primary colours only. I use Da Vinci watercolour paint and my primaries are Aureolin (Mixture), Rose Madder Quinacridone and Cobalt Blue. I worked very quickly and boldly on these demos; no muss, no fuss. The ellipses are wonky and the background objects are just suggested. I used great license with the local colour, as well. I experimented with pure Cobalt Blue in my core shadows. I like the way it relates the objects to each other.

Primaries can have their limitations. If I want more vibrant greens, for instance, I’ll add a bit of Pthalo Green but I resisted the urge and stuck to my guns.

As always, the students painted with energy and spirit. I was glad to hear some say that the demonstration inspired them. Whatever the motivation, I believe this is our most colourful batch of watercolours in a while.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Nine”

  1. Scott Cooper Says:

    Great bunch of work; as you say, colourful! I particularly like the flat brush, mosaic/tile sort of approaches, very nice, indeed.

Leave a Reply

