Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Seven

My turnip soup had to wait a little bit longer. Other than a few minor alternations, our Tuesday still-life was a repeat of last Saturday’s setup. My demonstration addressed the same ideas but in a different way.

I did a small watercolour sketch for each class and used them to discuss the tonal relationships between the objects. In the sketch on the right, for instance, I tried to draw the eye to the stem of the onion. I wanted it to be as luminous as possible.

I also suggested the students zoom in and crop their compositions. Cropping is something of an art form in itself and doesn’t always work but I like the energy and intensity of the work.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Seven”

  1. bar Says:

    In retrospect, these paintings are all pretty nice. Good work classmates!
    Susan P

  2. Keith Palmer Says:

    Great post Barry, I’m directing all my students to follow your blog.

  3. malvikajaswal Says:

    as usual great work by your kids 🙂 I am starting an ambitious water color today and hope to pick up a few tips…

    • Barry Coombs Says:

      Thanks for following and for your positive remarks about the student work. Chronologically, few of my students qualify as kids but I’m sure we’re all kids at heart when we’re painting and drawing.

Leave a Reply

