Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Six

One of my evening students walked into the studio, looked at the still-life and said ‘Cook much?’ I probably don’t cook as much as I should but I do enjoy the way these objects take the light.

I suggested the students start their watercolours with a preliminary wash of warm colours. The sheet was covered with a wash of clean water and, while wet, yellows and golds and reds were touched in and allowed to run.

We’ve been practicing techniques that can give a shape a sharp edge in one area and a softly graded edge in another. Take a look at the shadow shape in the bowl of the spoon.

I demonstrated for both classes today, as usual, and worked a bit more on the demos during the evening class. I didn’t finish them because I like to show them at different stages of development.

These spoons and ladles are tougher to paint than they might look and some of the students struggled a bit. Struggle is good. Watercolour is a challenging medium and not renowned for 100% success rates. It’s a medium that rewards hard-work and thick skin. Next Tuesday, I’ll cook up a new still-life and everyone will roll up their sleeves and try to solve a new painting problem.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Six”

  1. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    This set-up is very challenging. Everything is one color. How do you make it interesting? HMMM…your students did great work. I was especially intrigued by the abstract down in the lower right corner of photo 1.

  2. Carol King Says:

    I enjoy your lessons, but I really enjoy your seeing all the work in the am and pm critiques.

Leave a Reply

