Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Five

I bought these objects at a dollar store and use them as a still-life once a year or so. “They’re fun to paint” I tell the students and some of them actually agree with me.

Fun or not, they give us an opportunity to practice soft-edge techniques. Also, I like the way they can be broken down into their component panels.

Watercolour Demonstration by Barry Coombs - FallTuesWk5  Watercolour Studies by Barry Coombs - FallTuesWk5

At the start of each class yesterday, I showed a sustained demonstration from a past class (above left) and we discussed the process and techniques I had used. Then, I did a few studies to better illustrate these techniques and some brush-handling skills.

In addition to that, I suggested that closely cropped compositions be considered. I like the way the objects are magnified when they fill up the space.

For all the initial discussion of technique, it was the colour that struck me during our critiques. The work was very strong, in general, and several of the paintings simply sang with colour. They must have had fun, after all.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Five”

  1. Scott Cooper Says:

    Perhaps the pressure to perform is reduced with these more abstract objects. There isn’t the same self-imposed “that doesn’t look like a…” that results in a greater willingness to push and pull the compositions and colours. Great group of work!

Leave a Reply

