Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Four

This is the other side of my still-life from last Saturday’s class. I wanted to use it again so the Tuesday students could enjoy the annual challenge of the gourds and pumpkins.

In Saturday’s post, I promised to show more of the steps in my next demonstration. I’ve included three sheets of studies in this post. They should give a broad sense of my process.

Since my student days, I’ve learned a lot about watercolour painting from looking at watercolours in exhibitions and books and trying to analyze them. Look carefully at the following studies and try to understand what I’ve done. Can you tell where I’ve allowed wet to touch wet, for instance?

Step One

There are so many ways to paint. Four of the studies shown in Step One were started using grey, stressing the values of the objects. The green gourd was done directly with light and dark green.

Step Two

In Step Two, I glazed a thin, yellow wash over the object in the upper left corner and a bit of orange over the long, horizontal gourd. Also, I’ve added a few stripes to the green gourd. Was the green gourd wet or dry when I painted the stripes?

Step Three of Watercolour Demonstration by Barry Coombs - FallTuesWk4

Step Three

Step Three shows more stripes and local colour. When I paint over the grey areas, I apply the paint very gently because I don’t want to disturb the grey underneath. I’ve left some things unfinished so that all steps of the process are visible.

Take another look at my Saturday demonstration. Only one of the four studies was done with the grey/value approach. Can you tell which one?

Some of the students tried the grey/value approach and others went straight to colour. Some did study sheets, others did full images and some managed both.

Tuesday AM Critique - FallTuesWk4

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Four”

  1. Evelyn Cunningham Says:

    It is so useful to see your approaches, step by step. You always forget how you got there once the piece is finished, so this is very helpful. Thanks.

  2. Lois Says:

    Thank you for the step by step.
    I think the green stripes were painted dry?
    I’m going to give all of the examples a try.
    Thanks, again Barry, for your Lessons.
    The Students had some good compositions and paintings…
    Lois

  3. Lois Says:

    For got to ask, if you care to share;
    What colors do you use for the Grey Washes?
    Thanks,
    Lois

  4. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    You are truly a teacher at heart. I agree with everything written above.

Leave a Reply

