Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Two

First of all, I’d like to thank all of you for following my blog. I reached 60,000 views a few days ago. If I had a nickel…

Last week, our Tuesday classes focused on ‘shape-reading’. No pencil drawing was done prior to painting and the edge of the image wasn’t taped. Most of the students completed two small works.

This week, I did some very basic planning with light pencil marks. I used only straight strokes of the pencil. I wanted to give the brush a strong role in the painting. Before painting, I taped off a ‘frame’. Also, I left varying amounts of paper-white throughout each image. We discussed ‘mark-making’ with the brush and ‘feathering’ the edge of a shape or mark with a slightly damp brush.

Our emphasis on completing two small works during the three-hour classes has had some positive results. The students are gaining more pure painting experience and taking a few more risks than usual.

Tues AM Critique

Tues PM Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Two”

  1. Scott Cooper Says:

    Some very fine work here, a testimony to a good teacher and dedicated students. Two paintings per class, that’s great! How do you learn to paint? By painting… The more you do, the more quickly improve.

  2. Priti Lathia Says:

    Awesome work- i enjoy looking at all the different versions. Love your teaching style!

  3. Lois Says:

    Congratulations, on so Many Viewers, me, as One of them.
    You have a great Blog, and are a great teacher, of Various
    techniques,
    What a Great thing for Students, and others, to have you
    as a Teacher.
    Wishing I could be in your classes.!!
    Lois

  4. pamazonian Says:

    Wish I could take one of your classes! Looks fun. Instead I’ll just follow your blog 🙂 Is it all right if readers use your still life setup images to practice at home too?

  5. Pat Leary Says:

    60,000 hits!! That’s fantastic, Barry! … You deserve such a wide following! Your virtues as a teacher are unquestionable!

  6. Barry Coombs Says:

    Thanks everyone for the kind comments. And yes, you’re very welcome to work from my still-life setups.

Leave a Reply

