Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Ten

Caps off to all of my wonderful students and the terrific work they did over this Spring term at my studio! We had a lot of fun and now it’s time to focus on my summer plein air painting workshops.

I always enjoy painting things like old shoes and hats and like to set up a ‘Thrift Store’ still-life for my classes. They always respond very well to the unorthodox subject matter.

I went back to the basics with my demonstration, using a ‘light to dark’ and ‘big to small’ and ‘soft to crisp’ process. The big shapes were painted first and the little bits of stitching and lettering were done last. I mixed the black with Cobalt Blue and Burnt Sienna.

Thanks for your comments and likes and for following my blog. Fall term is a long way off. It will start on Tuesday, September 11 and run for ten weeks. Look for the Fall Calendar in August.

My next stop will be a visit to the Blue Mountain School of Landscape Painting. After that, I’ll be in Charlevoix, Quebec (still a few spots available), Grand Manan Island, New Brunswick (still room for you and your best painting buddy) and Trinity Bight, Newfoundland (waiting list only).

Stay tuned for more information about these painting holidays and my activities as an artist, in general.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Ten”

  1. Scott Cooper Says:

    A fine collection of paintings; you have had a great group of students this term. Well done to you and all of them!

  2. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    I am always amazed at the way you can make spectacular studies from mundane objects. Inspiring!

Leave a Reply

