Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Seven

I seem to be alternating between bright, vivid colours and earthy colours from one week to the next. The apples that appear to be yellow in the image above are actually green. My iPhoto skills aren’t what they should be.

There are probably as many ways to paint an apple as there are to skin a cat. I’d much rather paint apples. I presented just one approach in my demonstration. All of the apples on my demo sheet were painted green. As you can see, two were left green. The other four were allowed to dry completely. Then, one at a time, I gently re-wet them with clean water and touched in red before the water dried.

The little indentations around the stems were done as a separate step. I painted a shape of clean water in the stem area and touched colour into the lower part of the water. You can see two examples in the upper right corner of the sheet.

By the way, my students are very appreciative of your comments. I encourage them to visit your sites. Hopefully, they will do so more often and our creative community will continue to expand.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Seven”

  1. Monica Says:

    Such lovely and vibrant paintings!

  2. Scott Cooper Says:

    Apples are a great subject; terrific body of work here.

  3. Tony Cook Says:

    Learning to paint apples in your classes a couple of years ago, led to an interesting “commission”. As you know, I often mount w/c paintings onto wooden panels and, for studio tour events, I make numerous versions on 4 x 6 inch panels. One visitor had a close friend whose nickname, for whatever reason, is “Apple” and she wanted 3 different (but recognizable as to type) apples on panels. Now, painting a red or a green apple is one thing; painting a Macintosh, a Russet or a Delicious is something else again. In any event, the commission was completed on time and the Apple Lady received quite an unusual birthday gift.

  4. Inese Poga Art Gallery Says:

    I love myself both drawing and painting apples, there is always something new what can be applied, and it never gets boring.

    • Barry Coombs Says:

      Apples are a classic subject, aren’t they? Thanks for your thoughts.

      • Inese Poga Art Gallery Says:

        I’m wondering how you are able to convince your students to go for a very simple, but really impressive stuff. I love painting still lives, but most of my students rather like painting landscapes or florals. One of them actually won a prize a day ago. She had absolutely no experince before.
        Good luck with your students!

      • Barry Coombs Says:

        I don’t insist that everyone follow the example of my demonstration. Many students attempt the exercise but aren’t willing to simplify as much as I have. It’s more challenging than it appears. Congratulations to your prize-winner!

Leave a Reply

