Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Six

 

The Tuesday classes worked from the same still-life that I set up for the Saturday group. As you can see, I’ve cropped my usual photo of the still-life above. I suggested that the Tuesday students be very selective and pick an area of the overall still-life to focus on. This was partly for practical reasons as the Tuesday classes are three hours in duration as opposed to the full day of a Saturday class.

I showed and discussed my demonstration from Saturday at the start of each class. Also, I presented a few ideas about cropped compositions on the demonstration sheet below. Another thing we considered was the  interaction between the objects and the backdrop. A dynamic figure/ground relationship can really make a difference in a painting.

Not everyone cropped or zoomed in as much as I suggested. Still, no-one seemed to bite off more than they could chew and I was very impressed with the rich and dramatic colours they created.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Six”

  1. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    A very challenging assignment. I can see the diversity of your student population in the results. Really fun to see their work and they stood up to the challenge.

Leave a Reply

