Sustained Saturday – Watercolour and Pen and Ink

Yesterday was our final Sustained Saturday class of the Spring term and we had a full house. I set up a ‘two-sided’ still-life. You can see one side of it above. Behind it is an identical second still-life. I’ve been saving the dried roses for a special occasion.

I didn’t really talk about anything new during my demonstration. The ceramic object was painted one panel at a time. That allowed me to control the washes and create the soft edges within each panel.

One thing I enjoy about teaching is the opportunity to see the paintings develop over the course of a three-hour or full-day class. You, dear reader, usually see only the finished work. Today, I’ll give you a glimpse into the process of a talented student, Elizabeth Jay.

As I walked around the studio yesterday morning, I noticed that Elizabeth was developing her values and relationships using a cool red. I asked her if I could photograph the piece at that stage of it’s development. Later on, I took another shot and ended up with a four step presentation.This is a fairly big image; about the size of a half sheet.

  

  

What do you think? Feel free to leave a comment for Elizabeth. Or any of the other artists, for that matter. Saturdays are always productive and we enjoy our exhibition of paintings and drawings at the end of the day. Sustained Saturdays will be back in the fall.

Sustained Saturday Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Sustained Saturday – Watercolour and Pen and Ink”

  1. Monica Says:

    You cultivate your students well. This is lovely.

Leave a Reply

