Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Five

Sometimes, people skip a meal before coming to watercolour class. They don’t always mention it but I did hear a few laments yesterday. I kept a close eye on the still-life. So did at least one of the students, as you’ll notice in the AM Critique.

I suggested that the students stick to primary colours rather than using their earthy siennas or umbers. Also, paper white, in varying amounts, was reserved in each of the studies below.

The hot lamp above the still-life gradually warmed up the buns and bagels and they started to smell pretty good. Fortunately, hunger pangs were channeled into the painting.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Five”

  1. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    Very impressive work by your students. I really like the way you are forced to save whites in this exercise. Takes a very delicate touch.

  2. Monica Says:

    Why did you tell them to use primary colours instead of burnt sienna or umber?

    • Barry Coombs Says:

      Sticking to the primaries is a great way to learn how to mix new colours. Also, one begins to notice colour more. Is that brown yellowish or reddish or cool?

      • Monica Says:

        Thanks for the explanation! I try not to buy too many colours too. Firstly, so as not to spend too much since I am a beginner. And secondly – hoping to learn how to mix. : )

  3. Carol King Says:

    Hi Barry, When I first clicked on your blog i laughed at all the bagels, rolls and buns. I immediately started to feel hungry. But then I read what you wrote about telling your students that they couldn’t use the ochers to achieve the bagel color. So now I must ask…what colors do they use? Yellow with a bit of red?

    And I have to tell you not only to I love your very instructive posts, but I love the see your students work during the critiques. So many variety of styles and compositions. But how did one of your students get me in the painting staring at all that bread like the wolf staring at little red riding hood?

  4. Barry Coombs Says:

    I’ll try to put together a post about my palette and using only primaries for a painting.

Leave a Reply

