Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Ten

Winter term at my studio has come to an end. It won’t be long though before we reconvene for Spring classes and you’re welcome to join us.

We’ve been using the flat and angled brushes for the past few weeks and focused on them again on Tuesday. I wanted everyone to have as much time as possible for painting so I did a study ahead of time and we discussed it briefly at the start of each class.

I used the brush in a swatch-like manner and concentrated on values, using a cool gray. The darks aren’t really as blue as they look in the image below. My scanner insisted on reproducing it this way. Either way, the lesson seemed to make sense. The students didn’t limit themselves to grays and responded nicely to the colourful still-life.

Thanks go to my Tuesday and Saturday students for making the classes a success. Here’s a look at the demonstrations from the past ten weeks.

More thanks to you and everyone else who follows my blog. I passed 40,000 views a few days ago!

And now, a final bow from the Tuesday morning and evening students of Winter term…

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Ten”

  1. northpenninegallery Says:

    I love the swatch idea. With your permission, I’m thinking of using it during my artist in residence on HMS Trincomalee
    http://www.hms-trincomalee.co.uk/

    • Barry Coombs Says:

      Congratulations on your residency. I can’t really claim authorship of the swatch approach so feel free to try it out. I hope you’ll be posting the results.

  2. northpenninegallery Says:

    I’m going to practice a little. I have the Duke of Kent visiting next week 😦

Leave a Reply

