Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Four

I can’t get the kids to tidy up their mess so we might as well paint it. Actually, it’s not fair for me to blame anyone else for my still-life arrangement. It’s unusual but the colours and shapes offered some very interesting challenges.

My morning demonstration was quite comprehensive as I painted three objects and we reviewed ideas from the first three weeks of the term.

In general, we are trying to keep our process as simple as possible and to paint with economy, striving for the essence of the objects. Getting the value right is always important. For example, I think my little shadow shape is a bit too dark just above the thumb of the pink mitten.

In the blue mitten, I eased off on the shadow above the thumb. Have you noticed that I’ve made the mittens lighter than I see them? I want them to be focal points and stand out from the surrounding objects.

There was some consternation when the classes arrived and saw the strange still-life. However, these everyday boots, toques and mittens really engaged the students.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Four”

  1. Carol King Says:

    I love this still life of everyday, colorful objects. and of course your instruction about keeping it simple always resonates with me. Now one of these days I will learn that lesson.

  2. Scott Cooper Says:

    I am constantly (and consistently) impressed by your students’ work. I particularly like the monochrome study from the PM class. Great stuff.

  3. Barb Says:

    Fun subject. Great work everyone. Wish I was there!

  4. northpenninegallery Says:

    Did you paint the values in first Barry-then the colour?

Leave a Reply

