Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week One

We’re back in action at the studio with the first day of Winter term. It was nice to see everyone. I wanted to greet the classes with a warm and cheerful still-life because today was the coldest day of the winter to date. It’s also cold and flu season and I succumbed to a chest cold a few days ago. I didn’t want to inflict it on the group so I prepared a small demonstration ahead of time and, standing well back, discussed my suggestions before everyone began their paintings.

My demonstration shows a first wash in each area. For instance, I painted the lemon a light yellow and touched in a darker value for the core shadow.

I’ve also left my pencil lines unerased. I usually start placing the objects and establishing relationships with blocky, rectangular shapes. Gradually, I round them off and refine the drawing. I draw lightly with a soft pencil such as a 2B.

We reviewed concepts that come up in every class such as simplification of form, light and shadow and wire-frame drawing.

Most of the students do a thumbnail study in their sketchbooks to sort out their composition and we talked a bit about compositional concerns. I kept my presentation reasonably brief and everyone got on with the business of working out the kinks after a month without regular classes. Check out what they did below.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week One”

  1. Stephen Says:

    Hah Barry – you are a master of colour and form. Your demo is lovely. So you have got 2012 off in great style. All the best for the rest of the year and for the adventures you will be taking in beautiful places. I look forward to following your log here.

Leave a Reply

