Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week One

We’re back in action! Fall classes started at my studio on Tuesday. I presented a version of ‘shape-reading’ with my watercolour demonstrations. I usually shape-read with my brush and absolutely no preliminary pencil drawing. I varied that a bit this time. Before painting a shape, I indicated it’s position on the sheet with faint pencil lines. Rather than outline the shape, I just used a few marks as guidelines for my brush.

Tuesday AM Demo

Tuesday PM Demo

Simplification was stressed. Composition and proportion were not. This approach to sketching in watercolour allows the painter to carefully study shapes, values and colour and to respond directly with the brush. Our goal was to follow the exercise using a sound process and to not worry too much about the finished product.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

It’s a challenge but a worthwhile one. I pared down the exercise for the new students in the evening class who are less experienced (for now) in the medium. They focused on touching a darker value into a wet light area in order to create a soft edge. Sounds easy but it takes practice and thought to develop fluency with this cornerstone technique.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week One”

  1. northpenninegallery Says:

    Looks like your tuition is already paying off with your learners.

Leave a Reply

