Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Nine

Summer beckons. Today was the last day of Spring term in my studio. I had a little fun setting up a summery still-life. I wanted the painting to be fun, as well, so I presented ‘watercolour sketching’ as my theme. My demonstrations started with a bare minimum of pencil drawing. I worked quickly, often allowing the brush to ignore the pencil. This piece is fairly small, about 7 x 9″.

 

I suggested the students try doing two small watercolours in our usual time period (approx. two and a half hours after the demo). Also, I avoided the formality of taping the edges of the sheet. Not all followed these guidelines but the work definitely has an immediacy that is sometimes missing in a more deliberate and sustained piece.

It’s time for outdoor painting! I’ve got two one-week workshops coming up in July; one in Charlevoix, Quebec and the other on Grand Manan Island, New Brunswick. Care to join us? There are a few spots left and one has your name on it.

July is a long way off, however. The studio and cat-sitters are arranged and,  tomorrow morning, we leave for a full month of painting on the big island, Newfoundland. We’ve rented a house on the gorgeous Bonavista peninsula. We’re really looking forward to it and I’m hoping to post the experience, when possible. Don’t touch that dial!

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Nine”

  1. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    Gorgeous! Colorful! Amazing! Congrats to you and ALL your takented students for another session of learning and FUN…

Leave a Reply

