Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Five

Yesterday,  I was really interested in simplifying shapes and finding a way to unify the diverse colours in the still-life. I couldn’t resist mixing in a brief drawing lesson.

Two weeks ago, we discussed cubic volumes. Yesterday’s still-life included a few wonky blue vases which were an interesting challenge. In the drawing below, I started with a basic tall cube. Using straight planning lines (red), I tried to figure out how the curves worked. Once reasonably satisfied with my analysis, I used blue to create the curves and show the visible edges of the object.

Years ago, I taught first year drawing in the Illustration department of Sheridan College in Oakville, Ontario. That’s where I picked up the idea of using coloured pencils for drawing exercises. Yellow, the lightest colour, was used for all the planning. Red was used mostly to show the ‘wire-frame’ interpretation of the object. Blue, the darkest colour,  was used to refine the study. Erasers were not used at all as the students were encouraged to reveal every step of their drawing process.

Our usual drawing pencils can be used in a similar way. The lightest lines would be the equivalent of the yellow. Medium weight lines would be the red and the darkest lines would be blue. After Sheridan, I brought this idea to my adult students at the Dundas Valley School of Art and elsewhere.

Now, back to watercolour. I’ve shown three steps of my watercolour demonstration which uses a preliminary wash but with a different approach than last week’s. I’ve left the white of the paper untouched in one area.

           

  

That’s as far as I took my demo. It was a grim and wet day outside so the bright colours of the still-life were particularly welcome.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

