Atotonilco, Mexico – Watercolour Demo

A few weeks ago, in sunny Mexico, I started a watercolour demonstration based on an image from the historic town of Atotonilco.

We painted in Atotonilco the following day and most of the group shared my enthusiasm for the visual rewards of this special place.

I promised to finish the piece when I got home and was finally able to give it my attention over the past few days.

This watercolour was done on Curry’s 200 lb. cold-pressed paper. I didn’t bother stretching it but taped it to a support board with masking tape. It is 10 x 14″.

I stuck with my primaries, from DaVinci, for the whole work. These are Aureolin (Mixture), Rose Madder Quinacridone and Cobalt Blue.

Each shape in the painting has been painted once. None have been touched a second or third time. Perhaps, it could be improved with some glazing but right now it’s fresh and unfussed and I’m going to leave it the way it is. I often add shapes of pure Lamp Black in my ‘cubist’ watercolours but I’m not going to do that with this one.

P.S. It was a lot of fun to paint.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Atotonilco, Mexico – Watercolour Demo”

  1. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    Remarkable! Full of life and energy. I love the way you used the orange to pull us through the painting. The path also leads us in but I really felt the “pull” from this dramatic color.

Leave a Reply

