Spring Term Begins!

Spring term at my studio started yesterday with Tuesday morning and evening classes. I tried to offer an attractive but not overly challenging still-life for the first day back from our layoff. I reviewed soft-edge techniques and stressed simplification of form.

Several of the artists felt a bit rusty but persevered, as usual. I don’t think the photos from our critiques turned out as well as they normally do. I take full blame for my minimal photographic skills. Here’s the work from Tuesday:

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Spring Term Begins!”

  1. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    It always takes to me awhile to hit my stride after a break. The work done in class was still very good. Do you get new students each session or do you have a lot of “repeats”?

  2. Barry Coombs Says:

    Thanks, Linda. I have a lot of repeat students and have known some of them for a long time. Every term, we’re joined by some new artists and some of them become ‘regulars’. The class culture is very supportive, friendly and welcoming. Next time you’re in Toronto, come and visit us!

Leave a Reply

