Burlington Fine Arts Association

Last Tuesday night, I visited the Burlington Fine Arts Association at the Burlington Arts Centre. I was invited by their Program Coordinator, Victoria Pearce (middle), to give a slide talk about my watercolours and a demonstration. Doug Cockell (left) was the capable technician and my PowerPoint presentation went without a hitch. The event was well-attended with about fifty BFAA members in the audience.

I only had about 45 minutes for my watercolour demo. I’d prepared a Tuscan Village from my imagination and had completed a preliminary wash ahead of time. The first image shows how far I got before I ran out of time.

I promised to finish the watercolour in my studio and then post it here on the blog. I worked on it today. The second image shows everything done except for the black shapes.

You can see the black shapes in the final image. I use Lamp Black and I find it very liberating to add black to these paintings. It’s been used fairly sparingly here.

Thanks for having me, BFAA. I hope you’re reading this and enjoy my completed Tuscan Village.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Burlington Fine Arts Association”

  1. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    Wonderful painting. It reminds of an article in The Artist’s magazine I read last year called The Fifth Dimension. It described how to turn and twist features to give your paintings interest. At the time I remember I checked to see if you wrote it!

  2. Barry Coombs Says:

    Thanks, Linda. I haven’t read the article but I think it may have been written by another Toronto-based artist. Actually, I don’t have a system that I follow. I take great pleasure in the work of the Cubist masters and they are the inspiration for my playful jumbles.

Leave a Reply

