Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Nine

It’s been a busy week and I’m posting the work from Tuesday a little late. Baked goods are always fun to paint and I proposed that everyone start with an atmospheric preliminary wash.

I wet my sheet thoroughly with clean water and touched in yellows, oranges and reds. The more random the better.

When the sheet was dry, I painted the crust around the raisin bread. The light area of the raisin bread is the preliminary wash, except for the darker raisins, of course.

The cut loaf was painted with an off-white, leaving a few bits of the first wash. I added the crust when it dried.

The top of the muffin was done in two steps. First I painted the lighter brown and left little flecks of the first wash untouched. I darkened the lower part of the muffin, just above the wrapper. The wrapper was painted with an off-white wash. The creases were added later and they are not all the same colour.

That was enough to get the students in the mood. Have a look.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Nine”

  1. bearrunner Says:

    Very unique paintings… I like them

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

