Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Eight

I set up some fairly familiar objects for the classes on Tuesday. I wanted to focus on simplification of the shapes and try for a less literal and more interpretative approach. This involved the use of soft-edge techniques. I started with a preliminary wash, touching colour into water. The colour is applied quite randomly.

In the second step, I’ve started to paint a few of the objects and tried to maintain the same spirit.

Step three shows an idea that I wanted the students to consider. I painted the cookie jar in the back and the object to it’s left with a continuous wash. The wash shows a transition from dark to light. In step four, which is as far as I went with it, I’ve done a light to dark wash in the background.

We talked about a lot of things but, overall, the goal was to be more experimental and try for a different look. Everyone responded well and the results were quite exciting.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Eight”

  1. Carol King Says:

    I remember trying something like this and wasn’t as nearly as successful as your very talented students. You’ve inspired me to try it again.

  2. Barry Coombs Says:

    I’m going to start my demonstration tomorrow with a similar preliminary wash. The subject matter will be very different.

  3. kgear3 Says:

    I love how each of these turned out!

  4. Barry Coombs Says:

    Thanks. I know they appreciate the nice feedback.

Leave a Reply

