Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Seven

I like to present all kinds of subject matter and this one might be called the ‘Mud Room’. Gloves and mittens and boots are quasi-organic forms. I did a full demo for each class and tried a different approach with each although both were fast-paced.

The morning demo is similar to last week’s and soft-edge techniques were employed. The evening demo relies on crisp edges and a light-to-dark layering of values. Each has it’s own feel and challenges.

Almost everyone struggled with this subject. The lighting was tricky. Some of the objects were in shadow. The mix of vibrant and earth colours was unusual. Have a look at what was done. Not all are finished.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Seven”

  1. Carol King Says:

    Your mud room still life scared the bejesus out of me! As soon as I looked at it I thought Wow! this is really hard. Yet your students did a wonderful job of painting and drawing from your set-up.

    Very interesting post. It has made me look at gloves and hats, etc. differently and may have to give this a go. Thanks.

  2. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    Very challenging. Good attempts but I can see that they struggled as would I. There is so much detail and texture and color. Will you try this again? Your “mud room” certain looks better than mine. Mine also has dog harnesses and leashes included!

  3. northpenninegallery Says:

    I thought your work was wonderful, I’m always impressed how simple you mange to keep things, how clean and effective they always look. Your site has become a great resource and I use your ‘values’ with every painting

  4. Barry Coombs Says:

    Thanks everyone.
    Carol: I think I scared myself. Fortunately, all the students came back yesterday. Maybe, I’m overly fond of unorthodox subject matter.
    Linda: I like the dog leash idea but you may earn the eternal enmity of my students for the suggestion, despite all of your positive comments.
    Keith: I’m glad the approach suits you so well. Thanks for your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

