Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Four

What do you think of my brand new objects? I was at the Dollar Store and couldn’t resist them. As the students filed into the Tuesday classes, and I saw the expressions on their faces, I began to doubt myself.

I suggested that each object be broken down into it’s component shapes. The soft-edge technique of touching dark paint into a wet area of lighter paint was used for each shape. Attention was paid to the overall values of the different shapes. I’ve shown two steps of my demonstration below.

I stressed simplification, as I usually do. Also, it was important to pay attention to where the objects overlapped each other. Which was darker? I encouraged the students to trust the process and paint every shape in their image before returning to rework any areas.

Although there may have been some apprehension at the start of each class, everyone rose to the occasion.

Tuesday AM Critique

Tuesday PM Critique

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Tuesday Watercolour Class – Week Four”

  1. Alex Zonis Says:

    Beautiful still life composition, and your steps look fantastic! No wonder your students did so well. I want to take your class too.

  2. Ian Says:

    What a strong and dynamic still life subject. The interlocking shapes and stripes of the demonstration remind me of synthetic cubist works.

  3. lindahalcombfineart Says:

    Your new objects are elegant and simple. This is a strong strong multi-sided composition and your students created really wonderful paintings.

Leave a Reply

